Spring 2014 Roster

This is mostly a mouse-work piece, so screw it! No need to exhaust my fingers and patience typing!

As I mentioned in the newspost, we’ll be sticking to our Wild Card system for the foreseeable future.  I think it’s going to serve the discourse here well.  One absence: I have thought long and hard about a series to add for my “comfort zone” series…but I can’t find one. I’m already baiting myself twice this season.  And as I don’t know what things will be like post-injury (or even WHEN that will be) I’m setting things up light.

Reminder: As per blog policy we won’t be covering second seasons/series unless they fall under the premise of reboots, or if we have previously covered seasons.  Thus, no Jojo, no Mushishi, despite how I’d like them to be here.

Also, please forgive the lack of original wording in plot summaries, I am copy-pasting way more this season because it still hurts to type (I had to set aside this 500 word post three times to rest the slashed finger…please forgive me!)

Confirmed Series

19429Akuma no Riddle (Riddle Story): Haru Ichinose is a student at Myoujou Academy. She has 12 assassins after her, but it seems a new assassin is developing feelings for her…

If you’ve stuck to this blog for any length of time you know we have three subjects.  Violence, lesbians, and magic. So a series that comprises all three was bound to end up here.  Well okay, maybe minor mysticism, that part isn’t quite clear. Still it’s turning out to be quite the year for girl on girl. Lucky you.  Most promising though? We have the director from a lot of the Nanoha media and Genei wo Kakeru Taiyou, so you know it will treat its subject matter with respect, if not complete realism.  Also promising, the manga this comes from premiered 18 months ago, meaning someone saw something special about it and NEEDED to make this series happen.  Encouraging little bits all around that allow me to remain optimistic.

Studio: Diomedea

20619Blade and Soul: “A thousand-year peace is coming to an end. The fledgling Wind Empire strives to overthrow the fading Stratus Empire and unite the four continents in a new era of equality–albeit an equality enforced by military might. Amid this mortal trouble and strife come the ancient Darksiders, with the nefarious Jin Seoyeon as the harbinger of their return… and with the people fighting among themselves, there may be no one to oppose their evil plans and save the world. Based on the Korean MMORPG “Blade & Soul”.”

Hell, let’s roll the dice.  It’s been a while since Gonzo did something really interesting drama-wise (and they do have some real gems in their distant past), but let’s be fair, their last two series I both hated (Leviathan) and loved (InuHasa) (we do have the same script writer from Trinity Blood here, though).  But I’m willing to give this a chance!  Will my hopes be shattered? We’ll see. At the very least, the all-female cast will keep Yours Truly picking favorites even if the show ends up bad. Which judging by the way they’ve been emphasizing fan-service…seems pretty likely.  I anticipate something like Machine Doll, a show that will be awful only because of face-palming decisions, the show going right when it should have gone left, not inherent problems in the make up of the series.  I think that’s a region I am effective: Pointing out how tiny changes can make a story not completely blow.

Studio: Gonzo

Wild Card Series

Expect to see at least one of these.  But no promises.  We could have one, two, maybe even three, or none. It all depends on what insults my intelligence and what blows my mind.

20462Hitsugi no Chaika: “Toru Acura, an incredibly lazy man with some hidden talents, has been forced by his sister Akari to actually go outside and search for work. However, he is in for a big surprise when he meets Chaika Trabant in the forest, and they are suddenly attacked by a monster! How will they survive? Who is this mysterious girl, and why is she being targeted?”

And consider this one of those “if it insults my intelligence too much it’ll be here” shows.  I suppose I shouldn’t be so judgmental…Noragami is still filling me with the warm fuzzies for Bones.  But I have that sneaking feeling whenever we try to do “comedy” and “action”.

Studio: Bones

20615Selector Infected WIXOSS: “Hope, desire, greed.  Girls with each of these feelings in their hearts are being swallowed into the vortex of a dangerous game… ”

This is the most likely candidate to end up here. I admit some intrigue.  The problem of course with psychological series is…not everyone can be deep.  So it could end up completely inane.

Studio: J.C. Staff

20457Black Bullet: Humans have been pushed near extinction in the near future by parasitic life forms known as Gastrea.  Rentaro and his partner Enju are part of a special task force in Tokyo, one of the few Human settlements left.

As a writer, premises interest me, and can sustain at least my interest if not my affection.  Machine Doll had an interesting premise, as did Galilei Donna.  What did those shows have in common? I hated them.  And I suspect the same will happen here.  But this place reserves judgment, so we’ll dive into this one optimistic and ready to face the slings and arrows of the naysayers…until they’re proven right.

Studio: Kinema Citrus

19815No Game, No Life: “The story of No Game, No Life centers around Sora and Shiro, a brother and sister whose reputations as brilliant NEET (Not in Education, Employment, or Training) hikikomori (shut-in) gamers have spawned urban legends all over the Internet. These two gamers even consider the real world as just another “crappy game.” One day, they are summoned by a boy named “God” to an alternate world. There, God has prohibited war and declared this to be a world where “everything is decided by games” – even national borders. Humanity has been driven back into one remaining city by the other races. Will Sora and Shiro, the good-for-nothing brother and sister, become the “Saviors of Humanity” on this alternate world? “Well, let’s start playing.””

This is the candidate for outlier series. Candidate.  We’ll see.  It’s likely for me to pick it up as series number four, but not number five. It all depends where things fall. If there’s anything I can be excited over, the color scheme looks really interesting, so this could be a visually fascinating series.

Studio: Madhouse

20542Kamigami no Asobi/Ludere Deorum: “The story revolves around heroine Yui Kusanagi, who is ordered by Zeus, a god and the headmaster of a school he created, to teach the meaning of love to young and handsome gods. The reason he has for doing this is to cancel the negative effects of the weakening bond between the world of the divine and the world of the humans. ”

Call it a strange impulse, but as a shot in the dark I’ll give this a chance as a wild card series.  Besides I’m kind of curious to see how mad a lesbian can get at a reverse harem show. That alone is like a selling point, right?  And as you’ve seen in Noragami, I have a bit of a love for exploring divinity.

Studio: Brains Base

Again, this is all stuff that I’m keeping eyes on.  If another random shows catches my eye, it may end up here, still.  But I’m gonna be playing a LOT of catch up with this busted finger, so…maybe it’s time to call it a light season.

2 thoughts on “Spring 2014 Roster

Did I miss something?

