Line Up: Winter 2014

Autumn has passed us by, so let us turn our attention to the premieres following the New Year.

I have decided to experiment this season.  I will have three series that I am definitely reviewing, and two series that will be “Wild Cards”.  That is, among the six or so shows I will be watching, I will pick only one or two to follow on this blog, depending on what I see as potential.  I can’t speak to the success or not of this strategy, but hey, might be fun.

Note: KILL la KILL will be continuing to follow new releases, but Strike the Blood has been dropped.  Expect the Strike the Blood series recap at the end of this Winter season.

Committed Series:

These series will most definitely be appearing on this blog.

18679KILL la KILL: The second half of the Autumn 2013 anime, KILL la KILL follows Matoi Ryuko, wielder of a scissor blade, at Kiryuin Satsuki’s Honnouji Academy, where only force is respected.  Ryuko has discovered the identity of her father’s killer, but can she stand up against the Kiryuin empire and Satsuki’s Elite Four?

Probably my favorite of the Autumn line up, I’m eager to continue this series.

Studio: Trigger.

20057Space Dandy: “The lead character Dandy is an alien hunter and the “dandiest man in space.” The anime is set far in the future where people have gone to the far reaches of the universe. Dandy is searching for aliens that no one has found before with his robot partner QT.”

So, here is my reasoning: The director of Death Note and a writer from Cowboy Bebop got together and decided to make a series that basically looks like “What would anime Babylon 5 look like in season 1”? Consider me sold.

Studio: Bones

20047Sakura Trick: Haruka and Yuu are two girls attending a doomed high school, set to be closed in three years.  On a whim, to make a special memory they won’t forget, they decide to share a kiss.  But as it turns out, a kiss isn’t only a kiss…

Consider this my personal bias shining through.  Last season gave us little to enjoy from the LGBT side of things (aside from thick Yuri goggles on display in KILL la KILL and a purported lesbian needing to catch a proper stabbing in Strike the Blood), so I’m indulging.  I will probably have low opinions…but at LEAST it will give me the social commentary I need to remain engaged.  This “lez slot” would probably normally be Chuunibyou, but as I have established, I won’t do second seasons here unless you can find the first on this blog also.

Studio: Studio Deen

Wild Card Series:

These series are not finalized decisions.  I may pick one, two, or even none of the following.

20447Noragami: Yato is a kami. Unfortunately he has no one to follow his teachings, leave offerings at his shrines, or revere his name.  But that doesn’t stop him, and after finding a number and a mysterious message “I solve your problems”, Hiyari Iki meets the quirky deity…

The premise is what has me drawn to this one.  I have always felt the idea of kami a honest one as far as the metaphysical.  Are there supernatural creatures? Well, if they exist, we probably have very strange ideas about them.  Do we know all their names? (do we even know their proper names?) I’d wager no.  So seeing a series about one of those “forgotten gods” seems like it could be good fun.

Studio: Bones

20496Sekai Seifuku: Original TV anime produced by A-1 Pictures.

That’s it. Yup. I know original series tend to be tight lipped, to allow their story to unfold naturally, but this is taking things to a strange new extreme.  It is labeled action and fantasy, and judging from the art here, maybe a mite silly.  I’ll give it a chance.

Studio: A-1 Pictures

19855Nobunagun: On a field trip to Taiwan, Shio Ogura is attacked by monsters! Agents from the government, called “E-gene holders”, those who carry the spirits of ancestors, arrive.  Shio is revealed to carry the spirit of none other than Oda Nobunaga.

This series concept is so bizarre it wins my notice.  It’s almost like a Toko meets Shaman King.  I’ll bite, guys.  Yes I will.  The interesting thing to see here is what bearing having that famous soul in her power will be like.

Studio: Bridge

20509Nobunaga the Fool: The Western Planet and Eastern Planet used to be connected, but civil war has long since divided the empire of the ancients. A girl from the Western Panet, Jeanne Kaguya d’Arc, saw heavenly visions of the birth of a “Star Messiah” who will save the world. She embarks on a journey to the Eastern Planet with Leonardo da Vinci, “the one who observes the world.” They come across the heretic of the Eastern Planet and “the greatest fool of the day,” Oda Nobunaga.

Another Nobunaga story? Yep. Two this season. I’m not even counting the KILL la KILL parallels to Nobunaga in Satsuki.  But this time, it’s mecha Nobunaga.  I am not the biggest mech fan, but like Nobunagun, this premise is so strange I have to give it a looksie.

Studio: Satelight

20488Inari, Konkon, Koi Iroha: Fushimi Inari has feelings for her classmate, Tanbabashi, but doesn’t have the will or intellect to articulate those feelings to him.  One day, as a reward for good deeds, the god Ukanomitamanokami gives her the ability to change form.

Admittedly, the least likely candidate for me to pick up this season. But I feel like giving it a chance, I’m a sucker for unrequited love.

Studio: Production IMS

20431Hoozuki no Reitetsu: “Hoozuki is the aide to the great king of Hell, King Enma. Calm and super-sadistic, Hoozuki tries to resolve the various problems in Hell, including a rampaging Momotarou and his companions. However, he also likes spending his free time on his hobbies, such as fawning over cute animals and raising “Goldfish Flowers.””

I am always in favor of fleshing out demonic characters.  Giving them new personalities and the like.  I’ll try this on for size, but frankly am not expecting great things. We’ll see how the comedy holds up in the pilot.

Studio: Wit Studio

That’s our line up.  Whatever will the Wild Cards be? Who’s to know.  Guess you’ll have to be surprised like me.

Did I miss something?

