Galilei Donna: Episode 4

Bury this show. Bury it in ten feet of ice.

galilei donna4

Oh, as I neglected to mention it last week, yours truly is indeed embarking on NaNoWriMo this year, so reviews will probably come more in clumps than they have in the past.

And OHMYGODSOMANUFACTURED.

We find a hobo in the opening minutes while looking for the next piece.  GAWSH, I HOPE HE ISN’T SOMEHOW RELATED TO US FINDING THE NEXT CLUE. MAYBE WE SHOULDN’T ASK HIM ABOUT IT EVEN THOUGH HE IS GOING TO SAVE OUR ASSES. I MEAN REALLY GAIZ, WE SHOULDN’T BE DOING THINGS WITH OTHER PEOPLE. NOW LET’S GO HAVE AN ADVENTURE THAT I HOPE IN HINDSIGHT COULDN’T BE SOLVED BY JUST ASKING THE DUDE WE FED IF HE’S HEARD ANYTHING.

How awful was it? I wrote that goddamn rant in the  first five minutes of watching this episode.  That is how predictable it was. Contrived. CONTRIIIIIIVED. Holy crap, contrived. Subsequently, expect swearing in this post like you would not believe.

This is really my major criticism right now.  I can’t get past how basic and simplistic the writing is in this show.  I want to still point out the animation or other subtleties that prove someone with a soul is working on this show, but I can’t bring myself to pay attention enough to do it.

And wow this Kazuki stuff does not end.  Serves me right for proclaiming her the most nuanced character in episode 2.  I have been forced to eat, choke on, and half swallow my words over the past two episodes.  So much of these past few have been of how shit Kazuki is.  That not only pisses me off, but I also know, I weep with the anticipation, that the other three are going to get arcs like this, where they will be JUST as insufferable.

It’s just so goddamn unbearable because it isn’t going anywhere.  The only part that was a breath of air before diving back into the swill was her confession to Hans.  It wasn’t the usual fare of “I wanted to pretend we could go back, but I have to grow up!” wah wah stuff that you’d get out of Naruto.  It was far more direct and personal than that, and that was good.  BUT HOLY FUCK we didn’t need to spend 40minutes focusing on how frail Kazuki’s emotional state was.  We get it, she’s having trouble adjusting (understatement of the year), we don’t have to KEEP seeing it over and over again.  Were you afraid we missed it the fourth fucking time?

I do not, for the life of me, know what bothers me about this show so much.  I got through Fantasista Doll just fine. That show was predictable and simple.  But this? This is some new level of hell Dante wishes he’d thought of.

Hitler may have been bad, but at least he didn’t write Galilei Donna.  (Oh come on, you couldn’t expect me to go this long without Godwinning the fuck out of this?)

Did I miss something?

