Fall 2013 Roster

Greetings! So, here we are, September. The Autumn season will be upon us soon as the Summer series wrap themselves up over the next 2-3 weeks.  So in preparation let me share the series I will be reviewing here, and you can expect to see over the next few months. Most of these will be premiering the first week of October.

7722 BlazBlue: Alter Memory: Based on the video game series of the same name, Alter Memory will follow the main cast of BlazBlue as they pursue Ragna, a terrorist with a huge bounty on his head.

Admittedly, I am not a player of the BlazBlue series, but my fiance is, so I will be watching this anyway.  As such, expect my opinion of the show to be that of someone who is using the anime as a first-exposure to the BlazBlue franchise, and not a long-time fan of the games.  I have some pretty high hopes for it, though. As a fighting series it should prove entertaining visually, and I am assured the characters have been developed well, and hopefully that translates well to the small screen.  I suspect Rachel will be my favorite….but that’s only an educated guess. ^_^

(Studio: Hoods Entertainment)

Galilei DonnaGalilei Donna: “The story is about three moons in the form of three of Italian astronomer Galileo’s female descendants who are on international wanted lists.”

That’s all we’ve got to work with, this one is being held pretty tight under wraps being an original series. The casting list also implies a group of space pirates and some strange DaVinci Code-esque antics revolving around Galileo.  Still, cute girls who are wanted fugitives is sure to provide some form of entertainment, be it comedy or action. I have high hopes that this series will be unique and interesting.  The secrecy involved only makes it more intriguing. A-1 Pictures is also the studio behind Black Butler, Shinsekai Yori, and Sword Art Online, so, that makes it all that more promising.

(Studio: A-1 Pictures)

7617

Unbreakable Machine Doll: Set in the not-so-distant future, magic and technology have been fused to create special circuits that give life to objects. Akabane Raishin, with his weaponized doll Yaya, plans to climb his way to the top of Royal Academy, though his test scores are the lowest in the school, but fighting prowess second to none.

This seems to be a more science-fictiony version of Baka to Test. The moral, judging by the protagonist’s description, may very well be the same: That there’s more to life than test scores.  Or, just as likely, he will learn to be a good student and reach his full potential.  Either way, it catches my interest, admittedly only just.  I don’t particularly have high hopes for the series, but will be disappointed if it lacks any substance (it IS tagged ecchi, which can run the gambit).

(Studio: Lerche)

W380KILL la KILL: On a campus ruled by force of arms, the scissor-sword wielding Ryuuko Matoi and Satsuki Kiryuuin are the two main rivals.

This series is one I have the highest hopes for.  More than any other series, I want this one to excel. Perhaps it is the possibility of yuri-romance, or perhaps the fact I generally give the benefit of the doubt to original series (perhaps a combination of both).  Either way, this is something I look forward to.  Like Galilei Donna, being an original work this series is very hush hush, so we’ll see where it goes. This will be Trigger’s very first original series, so for their sake I’m rooting for them, too!

(Studio: Trigger)

7715Strike The Blood: The government-controlled Lion organization has decided to strike down the world’s strongest vampire, known as the Fourth Primogenitor and his phantom lackeys.  They have selected a young “sword shaman”, Himegari Yukina, to be their operative, and sent her to the “demon district”. How will she deal with the Fourth Primogenitor, Akatsuki Kojou?

A good old fashioned vampire-extermination should be quite interesting.  Coming from a Western frame of reference, Japan always does interesting things with the vampire mythos, blending their own traditions with the deeply rooted Stoker mythology. This show appears to be no different, and I’m looking forward to it. It promises winds of conspiracy and grey-morality, and I can’t say no to that.

(Studio: Silver Link)

Outbreak CompanyOutbreak Company: Kanou Shinichi is an otaku through and through.  Sadly, he is deficient in any area except his trivia regarding everything “moe”. One day, he finds himself transported to a fantasy world, with dragons and castles and magic. His quest: Not to slay demons, but to become “moe ambassador” to the world of fantasy.

This series is our “odd man out”, I do like to keep my views broad.  This series makes the cut for two reasons: One, it should prove to be fourth-wall breaking as FUCK. Which could be incredibly funny.  Two, the series promos have been explicit that while it is going to be a comedy vehicle, it will shift into more adult themes later on.  Political intrigue and social issues, those are things I can get on board with no matter the show. That being said, expect this to be the most likely candidate to just get dropped this season.

(Studio: Feel)

Other Series: As I mentioned, I do not plan to review everything I am watching, some shows I just want to do for fun or don’t feel I could possibly get involved with enough to do a proper review. So, here is a brief list of stuff I will probably/maybe be keeping up with, and if they turn out to be super-spectacular, expect to see them here. But I won’t be hounding them week to week, so I might be slow on the uptake when it becomes obvious that they are special ^.^;

-Tokyo Ravens

-Neppuu Kairiku Bushi Road

-Gingitsune

-Log Horizon

-Walkure Romanze (very tentative)

-Coppelion

So there’s our line-up.  Things will probably be very quiet here until October, I will probably come back at the end of September, just to double-check this post, and add a day-by-day schedule.

Did I miss something?

